poor little fashion soul

please stay, I wanna hear you play

Posted in fashion by clairedille on May 7, 2009

This morning, I caught a glimpse of one of my all time favorite films, the ever-so-popular Almost Famous. Penny Lane really pulls off the crop top trend and the first encounter we have with her is the most memorable. The white lace crop top is the ideal summer concert garment. Topshop’s lace number is what I will be picking up  to keep nice and cool in the late summer heat.

picture-14

Although I will be pairing the top with my old levi cutoffs, I have found myself inspired by all the muted bright colors shown on the Spring 2009 runway. The pinks and teals paired with black and grey at the Alexander Wang show are just what a savvy urbanite needs for relaxed summer style. 

alexander-wang-spring-09-teal-suit

alexander-wang-spring-09-pink-blazer

For a more wearable approach, I am loving the subtle acid washed shorts found at Madewell, Topshop, and Net-A-Porter.

picture-5

picture-7picture-9picture-10

madewell, topshop, topshop, theory at net-a-porter

A loose grey racerback tank and a nude or black woven sandal would be great for a summer-in-the-city look. To convert the outfit from day to night I will slip on a pair of wedges and a loose fitting blazer.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chrissy said, on May 10, 2009 at 4:17 am

    ooh i really like the lace crop top. definitely going to dabble in crop tops this summmmer!


Leave a Reply

